Tags

, , , ,

So yesterday I wrote that I was supposed to participate in a charity soccer game. Given that I woke up with a migraine I thought my chances of playing were slim to zero… enter my good friend ‘Advil’.. and just like that and 2hrs later I was game ready. The charity match was between some of our club’s soccer coaches v. 94.7 Hits FM, a local radio station. Proceeds went to the Otis Grant Foundation. We had gorgeous weather this weekend and at the start of the match at 11am it was already 30C.. scorching hot and to top it off we were wearing black jerseys. BLACK! I should mention that the last time I actually played soccer was four years ago. I stopped after injuring myself and never returned to playing.

What I learned yesterday…
1) soccer is awesome… I already knew that but yesterday just reinforced it.
2) for a 47 year old I am pretty happy about the speed I still have.
3) my conditioning SUCKS big time. The fact I didn’t faint or throw up was a miracle.
4) after four years off the pitch my mind and ‘smarts’ is still there… the execution not so much!

What I am learning today…

I have soreness in places I haven’t felt soreness in a very long time. I am getting stiffer and stiffer as the day goes on…

But…

I had the best time ever and am really, really happy that the migraine left me in time to enjoy this opportunity.

